Erannorth Reborn Modding Guide – Modding the Sandbox Mode

Welcome, visitors. In this guide, We try to focus on Erannorth Reborn Modding Guide – Modding the Sandbox Mode. While writing this guide, we pick up many pieces of information from several sites for you. We hope that this guide will help you.

Modding the Sandbox Mode

New Game Property: Sandbox

  • Any Game Mode can turned into Sandbox, but it’s recommended to set Endless:true.
  • All Stage related settings (like Custom Stage Sets, Starting Stage etc…) are overriden by the Location json files so won’t have any effect
  • But you can set about everything else: enemy related properties, all pc related properties, custom rules etc.
  • Added option to create Sandbox Game Modes in Game Mode Editor (under “How many stages to complete the run” => “Adventure Mode Sandbox”)


  • Game modes will automatically use any defined locations if “Sandbox” mode is true
  • Each Map Location contents and properties are moddable through their location.json files but their spot in the map, ID & Location name can’t be altered
  • It’s not currently possible to add new locations in the map, only areas within the existing locations
  • For instance You can’t change Lanmerih’s position (or name) in the map, but you can create your own areas in Lanmerih and/or edit any existing ones.
  • Each location can have up to 10 Areas. Areas are like Stages but have some additional (moddable) properties
  • Location .json files are located in ../Content/Locations or ../Mods/[Your Mod]/Locations

Modding the Location Properties

  • LocationName & ID: should be left as is, eitherwise vanilla locations won’t work
  • IsStartingLocation:true or false. Only one should be set as true. Make this Location the initial player location.
  • TravelDestinations [Destination]:[Means]:[Days] i.e “Grysbog:Land:2”, Define which are travel destinations from our location, by which mean (Land or Sea), and how many days it will take. Traveling by land consumes Rations at the rate of 1 every 2 days. Traveling by sea consumes Fartings at the rate of 10 Farthing / every day of the trip.
  • HasTown: true or false. Determine whether the location has a settlement or not
  • TownName: [Town name]. The settlement name, doesn’t have to match the location
  • AvailableActionTier: [Tier]. What actions tier can be found in Town, in turn also declares the settlement size (0-6)
  • Each location can have 10 different areas. Each area can have each own Stage either procedurally generated or with custom nodes. x Below can be for every field a number between 1 to 10. i.e x => 1 to declare the first area etc.
  • Area_x_GraphicSet: For now use one of the vanilla Stage Graphics Sets [Ice Cave, Bandit Camp, Dungeon, Infernal Cave, Meadow, Marsh, Plains, Beach, Arid Plains Camp, Arid Plains Shrine, Arid Plains, Snowcovered Forest, Snowcovered Ruins, Frozen Lake]
  • Area_x_Name: The name of the area
  • Area_x_isProcedural: true or false. Determine if the area is procedural or custom. Procedural stages never include a town node & may or may not include a boss as defined by Area_x_CompleteRequirements below.
  • Area_x_Length: If the are is procedural how many nodes it have?
  • Area_x_UnlockRequirements: a comma delimited Requirements string for the Area to show up. (Same options with the Tales System requirements) i.e Level:5, Class:Vampire. Area will be only available to level 5 vampire characters.
  • Area_x_CompleteRequirements: requirements to complete (a procedural stage). Can be “Boss”, “Endgame” or “”. If it’s “” the stage won’t generate a Boss at the final node. If it’s ‘Endgame’ completing this stage will end/conclude the sandbox mode. “Endgame” setting in procedural stages will always spawn a Boss, but you can also use it non-procedural stages in case you won’t something like an ‘Epilogue’.At that point any bonus mastery & token rewards declared in the game mode are also awarded.
  • Area_x_isRepeatable: true or false. Whether are is repeatable or an one off adventure.
  • Area_x_MinEnemyTier: Min Enemy Tier
  • Area_x_MaxEnemyTier: Max Enemy Tier
  • The Base Enemy Max Level will be set temporarily to a value in between Min & Max Tiers. i.e 3 to 6, may set enemy Max level to 4 and the Boss to D4. Normal Enemies will then be level 1-4 while exploring this area. Next time you visit the same area can be different ie 1-3 and the Boss D3. etc.
  • Area_x_Nodes: A list of your custom nodes if the stage is not procedural. (Similar to how you declare stage nodes in Custom Stage Sets.)

Custom PC Avatars

Editing Action Cards

Creating New Actions from scratch

Modloader.conf Comes in Play

Action Effects

Editing and Adding new Enemies

Archetype files for Classes & Races

Adding custom Classes & Races

The Mods Folder and Distributing your Mod

Creating New Game Modes & Adjusting Difficulty Settings

Adding Custom Perks to Core or Custom Races & Classes

How to Add new Events (Or Edit Existing Ones)

Chaining Events to create Short multi-outcome Stories

Creating Custom Stages & Adding them to Game Modes

This is the ending of Erannorth Reborn Modding Guide – Modding the Sandbox Mode guide. I hope it will help you. If there is wrong or you have suggestions, please let’s know and comment us. Have fun.

Similar Posts:

Written by Raven

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.